with sadly shaking head

OK–medical care…Pandora, many would have you close that box, but it ain’t happening. I have no issue with spirited, even vigorous debate–I kind of thrive on it, to be honest–but some of the lows to which our society sank during this contentiousness are inexcusable.

I know I’m a day late and a dollar short on this being newsworthy as it is a few days old and has been blogged, tweeted, status’ed, and shared via so many avenues ad nauseam…but I can’t let this festering sleeping dog lie. My blood boils each time it comes up. When some of the “Teabaggers” , who falsely pretend to speak for Republicans, wanted to rally and rail against the pending legislation in Washington DC last week, they somehow justified in their riled (tiny) minds that it could be OK to spit on a congressperson, and shout racial (the N-word) and sexuality (the F-word…not the 4-letter one) epithets. Not even on the kindergarten playground is this OK.

I’m sorry, it is flat our unacceptable. You must leave the playground now. This is not freedom of speech, and while freedom of idiocy is somehow, I suppose, implied in our society, you embarrass yourselves and your lost cause by embracing it. This is not behavior that can be tolerated—so yes, your hand should be slapped. Hell, I, mondo-pacifist that I am, think your face should be slapped. Even if your face is reddened by the slap, I can’t imagine it would matter—surely you have the good sense to never again show your uneducated, neanderthal, un-evolved face in public again.

I love your passion, I truly do. I embrace the folks who are spurred on to greater steadfastness in their beliefs by a defeat on an issue: an old elementary school friend who posted on facebook “The fight isn’t over. Be damn sure I’ll be there to fight for our constitutional rights and what our forefathers fought for…” This is cool by me. I don’t agree but I genuinely respect the intent and the tone.

But the spitters and the screamers, I loathe your lack of class, grace, or even civility. You were so frustrated and wanted to be heard, and now, how can anybody take you seriously? I mourn the loss of your voice—you have sacrificed it. You simply cannot be heard.

Shame on you. Not in the school marm/grandmother way, but truly, literally, SHAME. on. you. You’ve done an expert job of bringing shame upon yourselves and are a disgrace. Nicely forfeited, as you clearly just…gave up.

A far more poetic and level-headed man than I, NY Times op-ed writer Bob Herbert, commented, “At some point, we have to decide as a country that we just can’t have this: We can’t allow ourselves to remain silent as foaming-at-the-mouth protesters scream the vilest of epithets at members of Congress…”

Yes, this is a photo of a soggy, used teabag washing down the drain…

Photo: Bullit/stockxchng

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by jenni on April 3, 2010 at 12:19 AM

    Huzzah, Andrew!
    Thankyou for giving my frustration a voice. I pity all those who call attention to their causes by appealling to the lowest base instincts of society and often taking a good idea and dragging it through the sewer. So many debase themselves and their causes, ultimately diminishing our rights to free speech.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,139 other followers

